Dotmatrix signmaker v0.2

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Dotmatrix signmaker v0.2

Post by Racemaniac » 11 Aug 2006 15:51

*Updated*
now version 0.2
changes:

- little bugfix when adding lots of frames (small error in the top bar)
- Now the original image is copied to the top bar (no more near black images there)
- Added opening a serie of frames
usage: the frames have to be named <name>00.jpg, <name>01.jpg, etc...
the amount of numbers doesn't matter, nor does the name of the file,
it has to start counting at 0 though
you'll get the same window as opening a single file, just open the first file
the programm will add all the frames it can find to your animation.

download link is still the same (see below)

*original post*

i've followed blahitis' suggestion and made an attempt at a dot matrix sign maker.
it'll export your signs to a .bik file (so you can make animated signs with it).

check the readme in the install directory for instructions.

and ask any questions/give any suggestions here :)

Download here
Last edited by Racemaniac on 05 Sep 2006 08:12, edited 1 time in total.

eyez
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 379
Joined: 15 Mar 2006 17:46
Location: Aberdeen, UK

Post by eyez » 11 Aug 2006 16:01

Cool toy :D

You have to be careful what pictures you load. Simple, high-contrast images will probably work best.

Good job :1010

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 11 Aug 2006 17:51

wow,

now this is vewwi coowl.

Making Ulead cool3d animated 3d text in yellow and then exporting that with this tool makes it a dream come true:)
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Racemaniac » 12 Aug 2006 15:48

so... anyone using my tool yet? anyone who made something with it?

User avatar
Xp
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 429
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 19:38
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Location: Where do u think?
Contact:

Post by Xp » 12 Aug 2006 15:51

Well, I'm using it
Back with a barrel roll :island2

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Racemaniac » 12 Aug 2006 17:39

any results yet? (or suggestions, or bugs ^^)

User avatar
Habbla
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 33
Joined: 26 Jun 2006 23:17
Location: Sweden

Post by Habbla » 12 Aug 2006 18:30

How do you get it into your sign after you're done?
Image

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Racemaniac » 12 Aug 2006 18:55

Habbla wrote:How do you get it into your sign after you're done?
put the bikfile with the other ones in your trackmania folder (i think the dir is trackmaniadir\skins\signs . it should then show up in the list with the other signs.
edit, it's trackmaniadir\gamedata\skins\any\advertisments
Last edited by Racemaniac on 12 Aug 2006 19:18, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Xp
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 429
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 19:38
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Location: Where do u think?
Contact:

Post by Xp » 12 Aug 2006 19:06

no bugs.
Back with a barrel roll :island2

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Racemaniac » 12 Aug 2006 19:17

Xp wrote:no bugs.
great :D
i've made a simple sign with the examplepic i used in the other thread :)
http://users.pandora.be/racemaniac/warning.bik
very simple (and i faded it with photoshop, so i got a nice constant background).

that might be one of the things worth adding to the program, a layer system, so you can make a background and put your pic ontop of it. i'm only wondering if it'll be worth it. it'll probably be no better than doing it with another program. or does someone have a good idea how to implement it?

User avatar
Habbla
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 33
Joined: 26 Jun 2006 23:17
Location: Sweden

Post by Habbla » 13 Aug 2006 13:59

I have made some signs with it now.
It's a great tool! :D
Image

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Racemaniac » 13 Aug 2006 15:03

Habbla wrote:I have made some signs with it now.
It's a great tool! :D
thanx :)
where can we get your signs?

User avatar
Habbla
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 33
Joined: 26 Jun 2006 23:17
Location: Sweden

Post by Habbla » 13 Aug 2006 15:28

Haven't uploaded them yet..
You know any good place?

Sometimes some signs i created causes lag for me >.<
Image

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Racemaniac » 13 Aug 2006 18:11

Habbla wrote:Haven't uploaded them yet..
You know any good place?

Sometimes some signs i created causes lag for me >.<
what size are they? framerate?
it might also the compression quality. i currently use the default (i don't set it), maybe it's a bit too heavy...

User avatar
Habbla
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 33
Joined: 26 Jun 2006 23:17
Location: Sweden

Post by Habbla » 13 Aug 2006 19:35

I have changed one now, and it works perfectly! :D
I think it was too big, but i dont know.. :?
And here it is.. It's a sign with "Sweden" in tribal gold text.
http://www.yourfilelink.com/get.php?fid=154162
Image

Post Reply