Dedicated server for TMO/TMS/TMN : final release

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

Post Reply
User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Dedicated server for TMO/TMS/TMN : final release

Post by Slig » 28 Jan 2006 15:33

The dedicated server release 2006-05-30 was probably the last one for TMO/TMS/TMN, you can download it there :
TmDedicatedServer_2006-05-30.zip (Free.fr) or TmDedicatedServer_2006-05-30.zip
-> You'll find in the file for both Windows and Linux versions !
-> It's the same server for TMN, TMO et TMSX Very Happy

If you search the dedicated for TMU, go there : viewtopic.php?t=6321

Read carefully the readme !

* You can probably find other topics about the dedicated on the forum !
BlaHitis tutorial about dedicated is here : viewtopic.php?f=29&t=674

To test if your server (dedicated or ingame) is reachable from internet, you can use this script : http://slig.free.fr/TM/dedicated/tm_srv_tst.php (the test is tcp only, so if your players tell you that your serveur can't be join in udp, then you probably not made things for udp like you done for tcp (about redirections and firewall).

* Don't forget that you must have an account and specify its login and password in the dedicated.cfg ! To make you dedicated account, it depends upon the game (it needs the cd-key for TMO and TMSX) :
- For TMSX : http://www.trackmaniasunrise.com/dedicated/indexUk.php
- For TMO : http://www.trackmania.com/dedicated/indexUk.php
- For TMN : make an alternative account from the game itself. Now login should be created automatically if coutry is indicated and login is not already used.
... or, for TMN only, just indicate an unused login, password and nation in the config file. If you made the account that way, you can change the nation using (change ... in the url with your account infos): https://game.trackmanianations.com/onli ... .&nation=..


The server should be reachable on main port TCP and UDP (default 2350, preferably change it to 2352), optionally on p2p port TCP (default 3450, preferably change it to 3452), and if remote control is needed on xmlrpc port TCP (default 5000). So you will have to make on your nat-router the redirections for these ports to your server IP (which should be fixed, not dynamic), and be sure to not have a firewall preventing your server to be joinable on these ports too.


Windows users: if you have invalid time problems, try this (thanks to TrabTowN and eyez) :
- open taskmanager
- go to the "Processes" tab
- right click on the server app
- set priority to "Above Normal"
- set affinity -> deselect all but one core (if multi core)


You can connect to your own server in LAN mode but not in internet mode ? go there !


Note: The release 2007-02-21 have some problems (player ban on multilap maps in timeattack mode), replace it with this one !


You can look the tmu dedicated readme, or read this tutorial by Flo, anyway the way to use the dedicated is the same that for the previous TMO/TMU/TMN one (so you can refer to all tutorials about it, this one from Blahitis for example: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=674), except for that : the option '/game=' has disappeared (it's always TMU), and the dedicated.cfg file have now to be in the GameData/Config/ directory. Another change : a TMU server MUST be joinable on its p2p ports, so if you are behing a NAT router, you have to redirect the main server port (tcp and udp) and the p2p server port (tcp) to make it visible and joinable by players.

To make your TMU dedicated account, see there : https://www.trackmania.com/tmu-dedicated/

If you have problems, first try to see in topics about the old dedicated if you find the solution please. It really work the same way.

For TMU server utilities, see the 2nd post in this topic.


* Don't forget that tracks have to be in your dedicated GameData sub-directory, at the places described in your matchsettings file !

(the dedicated server is distributed with permission of Hylis and/or xbx of course)
Last edited by Slig on 21 Oct 2007 13:33, edited 25 times in total.

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Post by Slig » 28 Jan 2006 15:34

Utilities than can be used with the dedicated, to launch or improve it :

- basic.php : included in the dedicated files
- TMweb : http://www.tmweb.123.fr/
- remoteCP : viewtopic.php?t=2501
- ServerMania : http://cyrlaur.free.fr/ServerMania , viewtopic.php?t=1026&highlight=servermania
- Fast3.1 : viewtopic.php?t=6842 , server script with records and chat commands
- ASECO : viewtopic.php?t=2370 , a Fast-like script by the primary author of Fast, working only with new dedicated (minimum 2006-03-24 dedicated beta release required)
- ONYX : http://dedimania.com

- For command line control: rpc_utilities.zip

- To test if your server (dedicated or ingame) is reachable from internet, you can use this script : http://slig.free.fr/TM/dedicated/tm_srv_tst.php (the test is tcp only, so if your players tell you that your serveur can't be join in udp, then you probably not made things for udp like you done for tcp (about redirections and firewall).

PS: post here if you have some link or info about those utilities or others, i'll add them here !
Last edited by Slig on 05 Aug 2007 22:51, edited 13 times in total.

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 28 Jan 2006 16:23

Last edited by BLaHiTiS on 04 Feb 2006 11:40, edited 2 times in total.
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

FTRc_Dav
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 40
Joined: 18 Dec 2005 04:35
Contact:

Post by FTRc_Dav » 28 Jan 2006 17:02

Does anyone have a readable version of the readme.txt that comes with the new server? What a mess!
The one and only... Dav

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 28 Jan 2006 17:02

open it with wordpad :)
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

FTRc_Dav
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 40
Joined: 18 Dec 2005 04:35
Contact:

Post by FTRc_Dav » 28 Jan 2006 17:09

Thanks, bud :)
The one and only... Dav

Skubidou
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 235
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 16:38
Owned TM-games: tmo-tms-tmu

Post by Skubidou » 28 Jan 2006 22:05

Is there a new version of gamecontroller? Because it seems not to work correctly with the new dedicated server :? It connect correctly to the server, but all editions are not applied (change password, max player, max point, Team mode=>Round mode, .....) The only function that i still can use is restart a map or next map :cry:

Skubidou:~

xbx
Developer
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:42
Contact:

Post by xbx » 28 Jan 2006 22:31

Skubidou wrote:Is there a new version of gamecontroller? Because it seems not to work correctly with the new dedicated server :? It connect correctly to the server, but all editions are not applied (change password, max player, max point, Team mode=>Round mode, .....) The only function that i still can use is restart a map or next map :cry:

Skubidou:~


Indeed. It has to be updated...

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 29 Jan 2006 01:34

Just use servermania :) it's in test for a new version featuring nations :)
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

User avatar
MCWulf
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 73
Joined: 16 Nov 2005 22:14
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by MCWulf » 29 Jan 2006 02:06

wow, thank you very much for the new dedi server.. but i've got a problem! :-/ it starts every 5 seconds a new map, and while this 5 seconds are running, i get invalid times and my displayed time jumpts from 0:10 to 1:14 to 2:30 to 4:00 to 5:12 and the round is over... :-/

what can it be? :?
MfG
MC Wulf | mofc.de

Board: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D
CPU: AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+
Graphic: NVidia GeForce 7800GTX
RAM: 4x Infinieon DDR2 1GB
OS: WinXP Pro SP1

xbx
Developer
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:42
Contact:

Post by xbx » 29 Jan 2006 03:28

MCWulf wrote:wow, thank you very much for the new dedi server.. but i've got a problem! :-/ it starts every 5 seconds a new map, and while this 5 seconds are running, i get invalid times and my displayed time jumpts from 0:10 to 1:14 to 2:30 to 4:00 to 5:12 and the round is over... :-/

what can it be? :?


which version / OS?

turbomat
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 22
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 19:11
Contact:

Post by turbomat » 29 Jan 2006 06:47

I cant use the gamesettings from nation game for the dedicated server .
ITS NOT WORKING .
The only gamesettings that work is the one wich come with the dedicated server . ADVANCED TRAINING .


How you guys managed to change the tracks because i jsut cant .

turbomat
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 22
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 19:11
Contact:

Post by turbomat » 29 Jan 2006 06:49

HERE is what i got for tryn A AN OTHER gamesettings file :


Starting TmDedicated v...
Initializing...
Configuration file : dedicated.cfg
Loading system configuration...
...system configuration loaded
Listening for xml-rpc commands on port 5000.
Loading dedicated server configuration...
...Dedicated server configuration loaded
Match settings file : MatchSettings/123.txt
Loading match settings...
...Match settings loaded
Ready, waiting for commands.
STUCK HERE .



The game settings 123.txt is comming from the game . I did a save . NO WAY TO MAKE IT WORKING .
Even by editing gamesettings file ' NOTHING WORK .



btw , files from the dedicated server and file from the game are not the same .
One of them have filter and the other have no filter .

If someone managed to make a good gamesettings , please send me it to shelikejoke@hotmail.com .
Im waiting for that to start my server , the gamesettings ADVANCEDTRAINING is quite boring .

turbomat
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 22
Joined: 28 Jan 2006 19:11
Contact:

Post by turbomat » 29 Jan 2006 08:06

There is for sure a bug with the gamesettings files because here an other example
and btw , i tried on 2 computer .


If you go in your nation game directory of tracks . You have 4 settings there .
AdvancedTraining.txt
BeginnerTraining.txt
ExpertTraining.txt
ProRace.txt

Out of those 4 , only ADVANCEDTRANING is working , all others dont work .
Also , if you start the server with advancedtraining , it start with the first track , if you close it and restart it , it start but with the second track . Close it again and start it again , it start with the third track .

:evil:

Skubidou
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 235
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 16:38
Owned TM-games: tmo-tms-tmu

Post by Skubidou » 29 Jan 2006 08:26

xbx wrote:
Skubidou wrote:Is there a new version of gamecontroller? Because it seems not to work correctly with the new dedicated server :?


Indeed. It has to be updated...


Thanks for the info (confirmation). Hope it will be avalaible quickly...

BLaHiTiS wrote:Just use servermania :) it's in test for a new version featuring nations :)


Just test it:
- V0.62 (the only one avalaible to download) doesn't find the new dedicated server, until i rename the exe of dedicated to old name. But after that, i have some error messages when i try to change settings (password, mode, ...). I suppose it has the same problem as the gamecontroller....
- Bigger problem, my dedicated server run on an old Duron 800Mhz computer, and with servermania, windows are flickering, and is really slow...and it use 100% of my CPU :? Not really good for the server.

I don't search special feature, i simply want to play TMO league match in good condition, what is impossible till now (ingame server doesn't count points correctly and old dedicated has problem with start synchro :? Hope new one resolved the problem.... ). I use game controller only to switch from round to team mode (round during training, team during match), change password (from private team password to match password), and max point for the lap map....everything without restarting the server and 'kicking' everyone out (what is the only feature really interresting...)

Perhaps for LE7 :roll:

Skubidou:~

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Steeler [Crawler] and 5 guests