Page 1 of 1

TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 04 Aug 2007 09:21
by BLaHiTiS
Some people found out that TrackMania: United will not run on the Windows Vista 32/64bit platform.

This situation requres that you update your protection system drivers here

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 64bit

Posted: 07 Aug 2007 20:04
by nocturne
This is necessary for all versions of Trackmania, as well as any game that uses a version of starforce. Also, it's not just for Vista x64, but all versions of Vista (32bit included).

This has to do with new security restrictions in Vista. The SF driver is blocked because it is not 'signed' for Vista. Also, certain methods of launching an app are restricted, so that means you have to launch TM via a shorcut directly to the game executable and not from the launcher (at least in the case of TMN).

Also, you should have to install the SF update with an administrator account (and possibly the game also).

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 64bit

Posted: 07 Aug 2007 20:28
by BLaHiTiS
hmm, I assumed that because at he tima that we were beta testing, it was being tested on vista and it worked but ofcourse vista wasn't official yet ... I'll edit the post.

It's just that I myself am not inclined to jump to vista untill at the earliest next year. (together with a new computer.... maybe), it's just that I'm so confy with xp .. :)

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 64bit

Posted: 07 Aug 2007 20:53
by otmb;ripbox
c'mon BLaHiTiS live a little :P buy vista now and get infinite BSD and video driver crashes for free :D
what more could you want in life? :lol:
hey even error reporting works...with fixes coming in left right and center BARGAIN :mrgreen:

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 64bit

Posted: 07 Aug 2007 22:36
by BLaHiTiS
oh, I'll consider it, only if winnuke2 works too (the old days.. 'feels nostalgic')

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 10 Aug 2007 20:52
by Insomnia
For Vista 32 Bit it works fine for me, without any update.

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 11 Aug 2007 15:10
by otmb;ripbox
Insomnia wrote:For Vista 32 Bit it works fine for me, without any update.
this is also true of the 64 bit version as i have just changed from vista 32 to 64
the update is only required for tmo/tms/tmn ans other games like colin mcrae dirt

a little off topic however for those runing vista 32 with video cards like 8800GTX you may find that the drivers crash alot with TMU and other games....there is soon to be a SP1 that should adress this fault (google for the leaked beta version)
64 bit is far more stable than the 32 bit version and driver crashes are very few if any
i have just spent 2 days trying to emulate the video driver crashes experianced in the 32 bit version of vista in vista 64 and only recieved a live Kernal event when pushing my system to its max......this is to be expected is its a saftey feature of vista to prevent damage to any part of your system

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 09 Oct 2007 22:02
by Mac Matrix
otmb;ripbox wrote:
Insomnia wrote:For Vista 32 Bit it works fine for me, without any update.
this is also true of the 64 bit version as i have just changed from vista 32 to 64
the update is only required for tmo/tms/tmn ans other games like colin mcrae dirt

a little off topic however for those runing vista 32 with video cards like 8800GTX you may find that the drivers crash alot with TMU and other games....there is soon to be a SP1 that should adress this fault (google for the leaked beta version)
64 bit is far more stable than the 32 bit version and driver crashes are very few if any
i have just spent 2 days trying to emulate the video driver crashes experianced in the 32 bit version of vista in vista 64 and only recieved a live Kernal event when pushing my system to its max......this is to be expected is its a saftey feature of vista to prevent damage to any part of your system
Yeah, I've noticed that Trackmania regularly crashes my ATI X200 and causes an inevitable BSOD. Ironically my laptop then blames it on my Wireless card drivers, but when I'm not playing Trackmania nothing goes wrong.

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 22 Feb 2008 00:24
by ssj3_goku
does TMN work with vista home premium??

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 22 Feb 2008 03:34
by f*ckfish
Yes

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 19 Aug 2008 18:08
by ComKat
ssj3_goku wrote:does TMN work with vista home premium??
Yes i does.
i play on it

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 31 Aug 2009 18:21
by davidslot
i downloaded TMU
now i have a new laptop.. How can i download the game on my new laptop without paying again???

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 12 Sep 2009 01:39
by lupa
I`m trying to run (as administrator) TM_ESWC 1.8.0 in my Vista Laptop. I installed and unisntalled two times...Nothing changed, it always shows a little window saying that my video card has not been found, and that a quick bench is going to be run. I click OK and then comes another gray window (Protection System (FrontLine Pro)) written ERROR, and "Internal error when accessing one of the application´s libraries. Contact your Customer Support. Error Code: 161." Then click OK on it. Then another little window saying "Could not retrieve your graphic device performance. Automatic graphic quality may be inadequate." Click on OK again, and comes the Trackmania Nations ESWC window.

I´ve read some posts and tried the sfdrvup.exe ("run as administrator"), that ends up showing me a little window of "Front line Drivers Update Tool Fatal Error" with the information:
Type: class LCommon;;System;;ServiceControl;;Service;Exception
Location: void_thiscall
LCommon;;System;;ServiceControl;;Service;;Start(void)
Line: 509
Error Code: 161

Tried unchecking the "fullscreen" at CONFIGURE, tried deleting the starforce driver with sfcdrvrem.zip and sfdrvem.zip; my firewall is allowing TM; the UPDATE tells me I have the latest version of the game... but if I click at PLAY, again that gray window of ERROR at Protection System (FrontLine Pro) appears and clicking in OK ends the game forever...

WHAT is happening ?? I´ve had this game before (version 1.7.9) in this machine since january this year :pil , lost it when I had to re-format my laptop on june, trying to install it now and having ALL this mess ????? :roflol:

What do I have to do? What means this error 161 ?? Can pleeeaaase someone help me ??

Thanks

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 08 Oct 2009 09:48
by Zero_Falcon
To Lupa:

You cant remove StarForce by conventional means. You will need to use a StarForce remover software.

The StarForce company has also been notorious for its drive damages: http://www.glop.org/starforce/

Re: TMU Protection system & Windows Vista 32/64bit

Posted: 06 Feb 2010 20:07
by sloniasek
Where to download full StarForce application?


When i click on this file i have see this:
Image


Where4 i can download protection drivers?