Dedicated server cache. Why?

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

Post Reply
User avatar
wolf5150
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 30
Joined: 10 Jun 2009 19:48
Owned TM-games: all

Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by wolf5150 » 30 Jun 2009 09:30

Can anyone tell me where to find info on the dedicated server cache?
Is it necessary?
Can i clean it out?
can it be disabled in the configs without screwing up p2p?

Been running some servers for a few years now but it looks like it purges on a regular basis but is it even nessary to have it so large. (200 MB average x 5 servers = 1GB)
Image
~ Super Nova Site/Stats
~ SN Short Tracks Server
~ SN LoL Server
~ Super Nova -all the tracks
Recruiting for scrims! Are you fast enough to be a super nova team member?

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by Slig » 30 Jun 2009 22:28

Personally i always disable it (except the uploadp2p on gpcoast to handle forced F1 default skins). It's true that it help a little the p2p, but the dedicated is more stable without it, and it increased a lot the bandwidth used (both up and down), which is a bad idea, especially if the bandwidth is limited and/or if you use a script with lot of manialinks.

User avatar
Clinton
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 241
Joined: 26 Jan 2008 20:56
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMO
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by Clinton » 01 Jul 2009 00:16

I keep it disabled.
Image

http://allgamer.net cheapest Trackmania server hosting with the best support. We also do VPS hosting, Dedicated Servers, and Web Hosting! Request a free 3 day trial for a VPS

clinton@teameo.net for more information.

User avatar
blooper
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 144
Joined: 11 Oct 2007 23:47
Owned TM-games: TMUF
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by blooper » 01 Jul 2009 05:29

How do you clear the cache? I tried experimenting with setting <p2p_cache_size> to 0 (server wouldn't start) and -1 (it started caching things anyways), but those didn't work.

User avatar
Clinton
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 241
Joined: 26 Jan 2008 20:56
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMO
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by Clinton » 01 Jul 2009 10:41

You set the p2p to False, doesn't matter what size the cache is.
Image

http://allgamer.net cheapest Trackmania server hosting with the best support. We also do VPS hosting, Dedicated Servers, and Web Hosting! Request a free 3 day trial for a VPS

clinton@teameo.net for more information.

User avatar
wolf5150
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 30
Joined: 10 Jun 2009 19:48
Owned TM-games: all

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by wolf5150 » 01 Jul 2009 11:22

But when set to False does it stop P2P from client-client or just server-client and visa versa?

In english:
Can clients still see each others cars if i disable this?
Image
~ Super Nova Site/Stats
~ SN Short Tracks Server
~ SN LoL Server
~ Super Nova -all the tracks
Recruiting for scrims! Are you fast enough to be a super nova team member?

User avatar
Clinton
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 241
Joined: 26 Jan 2008 20:56
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMO
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by Clinton » 01 Jul 2009 11:34

Yep, but it's completely between the racers instead of having it download from the server host also.
Image

http://allgamer.net cheapest Trackmania server hosting with the best support. We also do VPS hosting, Dedicated Servers, and Web Hosting! Request a free 3 day trial for a VPS

clinton@teameo.net for more information.

User avatar
blooper
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 144
Joined: 11 Oct 2007 23:47
Owned TM-games: TMUF
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by blooper » 01 Jul 2009 17:08

Clinton wrote:You set the p2p to False, doesn't matter what size the cache is.
Heh, thanks. I didn't notice those before.

nocturne
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1390
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 18:48
Owned TM-games: all
Contact:

Re: Dedicated server cache. Why?

Post by nocturne » 01 Jul 2009 19:48

The p2p system basically just offloads the player's custom content to the server itself, so that it can aid in the player's access to that content.

But... it's buggy and unstable. When the limit is reached, the dedserver doesn't seem to want clear out the old garbage, and starts slowing down. Also, if the server downloads something such as a corrupted avatar for p2p, it will basically 'lock' itself up, eating every free cpu cycle until system services start crashing.

I'd disable all p2p in the server config -- you won't even notice.

Post Reply