Page 1 of 2

Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 07:04
by Yorkshire
Hi,

I have a few questions about referee (windowless) mode:

1. Should the referee produce any log files anywhere, or is it just a live kind of thing?

2. Should the referee actually appear in the game (in spec), or should they not be in the list of connected players?

3. When I fire up the windowless referee, they appear in the list of players in spec, but are not actually in spec! I have to go into the server (with another account) and force-spec! This only happens with FF's AutoQueue plugin. Without the plugin loaded the referee is actually in 'real' spec, if you see what I mean. Does this happen to anyone else?

TIA,

Nick.

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 10:01
by Slig
Yorkshire wrote:3. When I fire up the windowless referee, they appear in the list of players in spec, but are not actually in spec! I have to go into the server (with another account) and force-spec! This only happens with FF's AutoQueue plugin. Without the plugin loaded the referee is actually in 'real' spec, if you see what I mean. Does this happen to anyone else?
I don't think that the queue plugin can differntiate the referee and regular players. Probably that the plugin should include a config to indicate the referee plugin, or else perhaps consider referee players who have 'Referee' as nickname ? Perhaps that you should ask directly to Fufi about it, btw he said that he have very few time for TM dev actually.

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 10:19
by Yorkshire
Thanks Slig, I've PM'd FF directly.

Regards,

Nick.

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 10:28
by Slig
Yorkshire wrote:1. Should the referee produce any log files anywhere, or is it just a live kind of thing?
if i'm not wrong, the referee "just" do live validation of live validations replays.

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 10:43
by Yorkshire
Thanks again Slig :)

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 10:49
by Pesky
I may hijack this Thread to put in another question :)

I assume the windowless referee must have the right amount of LP to join a Server? Or is it not important because he is in Spec-Mode?

And doesnt he "occupy" a spec-Slot then for other regular players?

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 10:54
by Yorkshire
Hi,

No LPs don't matter as the ref is in spec. Not sure about occupying a space though.

Regards,

Nick.

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 11:39
by f*ckfish
Okay, I'll make a place for referees in the config then, I'll have to do a few tests. Does anyone know if there's a way to automatically recognize a ref?

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 12:53
by Pesky
Ok, no LP´s needed then. But doesnt the Referee get kicked after some time? Idlekick or worstkick if he appears in Playerlist and using FuFi-queue?
(If thats not the issue FuFi wants to fix ragarding his previous post :) )

Sorry for maybe asking stupid things but had no time yet to do tests by myself.

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 13:00
by Yorkshire
Hi,

The ref might get kicked, I don't know. Easy solution is make ref an Admin and don't kick admins :)

Regards,

Nick.

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 14:13
by Slig
f*ckfish wrote:Okay, I'll make a place for referees in the config then, I'll have to do a few tests. Does anyone know if there's a way to automatically recognize a ref?
I never noticed before (and so never tested it), but GetDetailedPlayerInfo give a IsReferee field, which should help ;)

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 09 Dec 2008 16:00
by f*ckfish
Never noticed either, thanks =)

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 12 Dec 2008 00:50
by Knutselmaaster
Yes the referee makes a logfile now, with the the latest game client and server anyways.
You will find it @ clientside in "my documents/TrackMania" (the root)

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 10 Jan 2009 15:22
by Sithnar
can you run a ref from a TMunited install?

Re: Referee Questions.

Posted: 10 Jan 2009 15:30
by Knutselmaaster
yes