Referee Questions.

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

Yorkshire
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 192
Joined: 21 May 2008 08:39
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Referee Questions.

Post by Yorkshire » 09 Dec 2008 07:04

Hi,

I have a few questions about referee (windowless) mode:

1. Should the referee produce any log files anywhere, or is it just a live kind of thing?

2. Should the referee actually appear in the game (in spec), or should they not be in the list of connected players?

3. When I fire up the windowless referee, they appear in the list of players in spec, but are not actually in spec! I have to go into the server (with another account) and force-spec! This only happens with FF's AutoQueue plugin. Without the plugin loaded the referee is actually in 'real' spec, if you see what I mean. Does this happen to anyone else?

TIA,

Nick.

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Slig » 09 Dec 2008 10:01

Yorkshire wrote:3. When I fire up the windowless referee, they appear in the list of players in spec, but are not actually in spec! I have to go into the server (with another account) and force-spec! This only happens with FF's AutoQueue plugin. Without the plugin loaded the referee is actually in 'real' spec, if you see what I mean. Does this happen to anyone else?
I don't think that the queue plugin can differntiate the referee and regular players. Probably that the plugin should include a config to indicate the referee plugin, or else perhaps consider referee players who have 'Referee' as nickname ? Perhaps that you should ask directly to Fufi about it, btw he said that he have very few time for TM dev actually.

Yorkshire
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 192
Joined: 21 May 2008 08:39
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Yorkshire » 09 Dec 2008 10:19

Thanks Slig, I've PM'd FF directly.

Regards,

Nick.

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Slig » 09 Dec 2008 10:28

Yorkshire wrote:1. Should the referee produce any log files anywhere, or is it just a live kind of thing?
if i'm not wrong, the referee "just" do live validation of live validations replays.

Yorkshire
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 192
Joined: 21 May 2008 08:39
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Yorkshire » 09 Dec 2008 10:43

Thanks again Slig :)

Pesky
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 262
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 16:25
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMUF
Manialink(s): rrmania
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Pesky » 09 Dec 2008 10:49

I may hijack this Thread to put in another question :)

I assume the windowless referee must have the right amount of LP to join a Server? Or is it not important because he is in Spec-Mode?

And doesnt he "occupy" a spec-Slot then for other regular players?

Yorkshire
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 192
Joined: 21 May 2008 08:39
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Yorkshire » 09 Dec 2008 10:54

Hi,

No LPs don't matter as the ref is in spec. Not sure about occupying a space though.

Regards,

Nick.

User avatar
f*ckfish
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 1302
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 07:59
Owned TM-games: TMNF, TMUF
Location: Dresden, Germany
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by f*ckfish » 09 Dec 2008 11:39

Okay, I'll make a place for referees in the config then, I'll have to do a few tests. Does anyone know if there's a way to automatically recognize a ref?
inactive, sorry

Pesky
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 262
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 16:25
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMUF
Manialink(s): rrmania
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Pesky » 09 Dec 2008 12:53

Ok, no LP´s needed then. But doesnt the Referee get kicked after some time? Idlekick or worstkick if he appears in Playerlist and using FuFi-queue?
(If thats not the issue FuFi wants to fix ragarding his previous post :) )

Sorry for maybe asking stupid things but had no time yet to do tests by myself.

Yorkshire
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 192
Joined: 21 May 2008 08:39
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Yorkshire » 09 Dec 2008 13:00

Hi,

The ref might get kicked, I don't know. Easy solution is make ref an Admin and don't kick admins :)

Regards,

Nick.

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Slig » 09 Dec 2008 14:13

f*ckfish wrote:Okay, I'll make a place for referees in the config then, I'll have to do a few tests. Does anyone know if there's a way to automatically recognize a ref?
I never noticed before (and so never tested it), but GetDetailedPlayerInfo give a IsReferee field, which should help ;)

User avatar
f*ckfish
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 1302
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 07:59
Owned TM-games: TMNF, TMUF
Location: Dresden, Germany
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by f*ckfish » 09 Dec 2008 16:00

Never noticed either, thanks =)
inactive, sorry

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Knutselmaaster » 12 Dec 2008 00:50

Yes the referee makes a logfile now, with the the latest game client and server anyways.
You will find it @ clientside in "my documents/TrackMania" (the root)

User avatar
Sithnar
cyclist
cyclist
Posts: 38
Joined: 29 Sep 2008 13:11
Owned TM-games: TMNF TMU
Location: UK

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Sithnar » 10 Jan 2009 15:22

can you run a ref from a TMunited install?
ĐLЯ»ѕιтнηαя
ĐѧяқLoяמs Rэѧιм [ Join ]

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions.

Post by Knutselmaaster » 10 Jan 2009 15:30

yes

Post Reply