Dedicated server for TMO/TMS/TMN : final release

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

User avatar
Fisch.666
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 136
Joined: 18 May 2006 01:13
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Fisch.666 » 10 Apr 2007 14:54

Slig wrote:to fully disable the votes, the real way is setting the votetime to 0
Ok, thanks for this info. I had to disable all votes because many users where kicked/banned from my server... :(

User avatar
Fisch.666
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 136
Joined: 18 May 2006 01:13
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Fisch.666 » 27 Apr 2007 14:26

Hi!

Ok, i've set the option <callvote_ratio>0</callvote_ratio> in my dedicated.cfg and restarted the server but users can still vote for an kick or an ban. Should i set it to <callvote_ratio>1.0</callvote_ratio> or how can i fully disable the votes?

Thanks in advance for an reply.

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Post by Slig » 01 May 2007 09:57

Fisch.666 wrote:Hi!

Ok, i've set the option <callvote_ratio>0</callvote_ratio> in my dedicated.cfg and restarted the server but users can still vote for an kick or an ban. Should i set it to <callvote_ratio>1.0</callvote_ratio> or how can i fully disable the votes?

Thanks in advance for an reply.
<callvote_timeout>0</callvote_timeout> to disable votes

User avatar
Fisch.666
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 136
Joined: 18 May 2006 01:13
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMUF, TMNF
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Fisch.666 » 01 May 2007 11:01

Ok, i will try this. Thanks again for your reply. :D

cow
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 216
Joined: 20 Mar 2007 02:53
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMS, TMO
Contact:

Post by cow » 02 May 2007 23:37

what is the point of p2p upload and download on the server
if i disable one but not the other what will happen
cant i change the size of the server cache and will it help anything p2p wise/
is there some sort of track cache?

a friend of mine deleted all 200 the tracks from the running dir, accidently.. the server continued to play 10 tracks over and over even though none were there.

trying to diag a music problem.. tracks juke to, restarted or added to the server to play next via cp.. wont play music or download mods
what about that /loadcache switch.. i see it doesnt use the checksum.txt but what does that mean and could this help my problem?

asking simular question in rasp forrum as not sure if it is the jukebox buffer

XT SLAYER
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Mar 2007 07:37
Contact:

HELP! How To Close Servers?

Post by XT SLAYER » 04 May 2007 10:52

Hey guys i have a question, once my server has been running and i quit TMN how do i close the server?? cause when i get out and close the CMD box thing the server still stays up lol, so i have 2 servers in AUS atm..please help!
Check out XT's website http://www.xt.xpt.net

We play TMN!

User avatar
hal|Sascha
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 671
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 16:22
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMS, TMO
Location: Germany Munich
Contact:

Re: HELP! How To Close Servers?

Post by hal|Sascha » 04 May 2007 11:06

XT SLAYER wrote:Hey guys i have a question, once my server has been running and i quit TMN how do i close the server?? cause when i get out and close the CMD box thing the server still stays up lol, so i have 2 servers in AUS atm..please help!
on linux "kill -9 (prozessid)" and on windows the server should close with the close of the cmd box, sometimes it takes a while until tm updates the serverlist :roll:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Mainboard: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
RAM: 2 GB
Graphics: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Audio: Soundblaster Audigy 4
Internet: ADSL 6Mbit
OS: Windows Vista Bussiness

XT SLAYER
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Mar 2007 07:37
Contact:

Re: HELP! How To Close Servers?

Post by XT SLAYER » 04 May 2007 11:11

hal|Sascha wrote:
XT SLAYER wrote:Hey guys i have a question, once my server has been running and i quit TMN how do i close the server?? cause when i get out and close the CMD box thing the server still stays up lol, so i have 2 servers in AUS atm..please help!
on linux "kill -9 (prozessid)" and on windows the server should close with the close of the cmd box, sometimes it takes a while until tm updates the serverlist :roll:
Oh ok cool, im using Windows anyway :P, how long approx. does it take?
Check out XT's website http://www.xt.xpt.net

We play TMN!

User avatar
Mistral
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 1304
Joined: 02 May 2006 15:13
Owned TM-games: tmuf
Contact:

Post by Mistral » 04 May 2007 11:13

There is no built in graceful shutdown of the dedicated server.

In Windows i use Servermania to "Stop" and "Close" the server gracefully.

In Linux I use Marcks Tool.

You have to shutdown gracefully to log off the server from the master server (and this is essential if you need to change IP f.e.). Else you might have to wait for the connection to time out (so the server finaly becomes removed from the serverlist). Can't tell you the exact timeout - but i was waiting more than 30 minutes half a year ago.

User avatar
hal|Sascha
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 671
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 16:22
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMS, TMO
Location: Germany Munich
Contact:

Re: HELP! How To Close Servers?

Post by hal|Sascha » 04 May 2007 11:21

XT SLAYER wrote:
hal|Sascha wrote:
XT SLAYER wrote:Hey guys i have a question, once my server has been running and i quit TMN how do i close the server?? cause when i get out and close the CMD box thing the server still stays up lol, so i have 2 servers in AUS atm..please help!
on linux "kill -9 (prozessid)" and on windows the server should close with the close of the cmd box, sometimes it takes a while until tm updates the serverlist :roll:
Oh ok cool, im using Windows anyway :P, how long approx. does it take?
until now it should allready updated :roll: if not you have an other problem ^^
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Mainboard: Asus P5W DH Deluxe
RAM: 2 GB
Graphics: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
Audio: Soundblaster Audigy 4
Internet: ADSL 6Mbit
OS: Windows Vista Bussiness

Larsi
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 May 2007 20:50
Location: Norway

Post by Larsi » 23 May 2007 16:10

Hi! It seems like my TMDS doesn't load the tracks in the matchsettings file. Can enyone explain that for me? I can connect to the server with ServerMania, and SM reports "launching" constantly..
CL of FMN

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Post by Slig » 24 May 2007 09:10

Try first with a simple matchsettings with just 1 or 2 maps having their file names without any special characters.

4thdesign
sunday driver
sunday driver
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Jun 2007 20:45
Contact:

Running Time

Post by 4thdesign » 28 Jun 2007 20:50

Hi Guys....noobie here...

Got my dedicated server running on a rented windows 2003 server.....yippeee..... BUT.......

It is hosting tracks for about 5 secs and then loads the next track !!

I have read all the posts here and some guy had this same problem, but i didnt see how it was fixed?

Which file do i need to go into to change the time config or is this a different issue unrelated to a config file somewhere?

Thanks in advance for your much needed help :)

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Re: Running Time

Post by Slig » 29 Jun 2007 17:00

4thdesign wrote:It is hosting tracks for about 5 secs and then loads the next track !!
All times in the matchsettings are in milliseconds, so for example 5min = 5*60*1000 = 300000

Other thing... on windows if you get many invalid times, try to make that (thanks to TrabTowN and eyez) :
- open taskmanager
- go to the "Processes" tab
- right click on the server app
- set priority to "Above Normal"
- set affinity -> deselect all but one core (if multi core)

User avatar
jackDANIEL's
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 10
Joined: 06 Jul 2007 10:25
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Post by jackDANIEL's » 07 Jul 2007 09:38

Hello everybody,

I'm trying to build up a trackmania nations' server by using servermania. I succeed into configuring the program, but I'm the only one who is able to enter the server. Other players see displayed a message telling them "could not contact server. connection failed or disconnected from the server (10060)" . :(

Help me please!

Post Reply