Dedicated server for TMO/TMS/TMN : final release

This is the place where you can find everything related to the dedicated server, control scripts and community tools.

Moderators: Pit Crew, TM-Patrol

Post Reply
User avatar
garreth
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 151
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 11:33
Contact:

Post by garreth » 04 Feb 2006 10:42

Thanks for new server, I'll test it asap :)
Mobo : Asus P5wdh -Deluxe
Intel core 2 Duo E6600
2 Go mo ddr2 pc6400
Nvidia 7950 GX2
SB Live, DX 9.0c
win xp pro
ADSL 2+ 16 Mo Dl/ 1 Mo Up

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Post by Slig » 04 Feb 2006 12:41

Lurker wrote:I'm to tired to investigate further now, but can other people running Linux test to see if it works if they change the server port from 2350?
I use 2 dedicated on the same linux computer without problem. Anyway actually i have both in separated directories, one is tmn and the other tmsx

Lurker
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 18
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 15:07
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Post by Lurker » 04 Feb 2006 17:03

Ok, cause I run both TMSX servers from the same directory. No errors in the log though...

bladux
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Feb 2006 17:55
Contact:

/netip

Post by bladux » 04 Feb 2006 18:17

Hi everyone...

I'm trying to run tmn servers and be able to query their status from my website doing a udp check.

I use multihomed ( > 1 public IP ) servers, problem is that the /netip option doesn't seem to work, therefore the port I specify in the cfg file is not teh one used if I run more than one instance of the dedicated server. The server will try to open UDP port but seem to need that the port ain't used in any IP used on the box:

Receiving on *:2350

Is there anything to do to make /netip to work ?

A working /netip and a new /netport options would be really great ;)

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Post by Slig » 04 Feb 2006 18:36

you have to use one cfg for each server, with different tm account and port for each...

bladux
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Feb 2006 17:55
Contact:

Post by bladux » 04 Feb 2006 18:47

Thats what I'm doing.. I'm pretty sure of what I've done on my side, servers are up, but they are not on the server port I specified and therefore I can't test if they are up from a udp scan.

All servers should use the same port as they are using different IPs.. TM dedicated just doesn't seem to bind the IP correctly

Regards

User avatar
[TnT]Tarth
road tourist
road tourist
Posts: 89
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 22:06
Owned TM-games: TM TMO TMU TMS TMN
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by [TnT]Tarth » 05 Feb 2006 03:27

Thanks for the update guys...it runs nice and now starts through remote connections.
Image

Excelsior
pedestrian
pedestrian
Posts: 11
Joined: 01 Feb 2006 14:53
Location: NY

Post by Excelsior » 06 Feb 2006 08:20

Random sorts the tracks list the same time every time.

And I seem to have no log files being created.

User avatar
BLaHiTiS
lord of the roads
lord of the roads
Posts: 3331
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:46
Owned TM-games: tmu tmo tms tmn
Manialink(s): muxitis
Location: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Contact:

Post by BLaHiTiS » 06 Feb 2006 10:03

what do you mean wit "sorts the list the same way" ?

I think this is meant to be with this function. It shuffels your maplist on loading but that maplisting (when you save it) will always be the same..

THis is a good function for when you've added a map pack that is the same series. It will then be spread across your playlist.

At least it's my thought... a "real" random function is in the servermania application thats soon gonna be out for nations..
Image

  • MB:Asus P8 H61
  • CPU:Intel i5 2400
  • RAM:8 Gb
  • GFX:Asus GTX-580 (1500mb DDR5) - Forceware 75.33
  • DirectX: June 2011
  • SND:Realtek HD on mobo
  • OS:Windows 7 SP1- Home Premium
[/size]

Imago
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 21
Joined: 01 Feb 2006 22:14
Contact:

Post by Imago » 06 Feb 2006 16:25

just stumbled over a two small bugs:

1)
lets say we have 5 tracks:

track A
track B
track C <--- current challenge index(as returned by GetCurrentChallengeIndex)
track D
track E

now I delete trackB via RemoveChallenge, then I have

track A
track C <--- track actually played currently
track D <--- current challenge index(as returned by GetCurrentChallengeIndex)
track E

when the current track is finished, the next track played is track E ...

2)
GetPlayerList(10, 0) << return only 9 entries, even if there are more players on the server

xbx
Developer
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:42
Contact:

Post by xbx » 06 Feb 2006 17:14

bladux wrote:Thats what I'm doing.. I'm pretty sure of what I've done on my side, servers are up, but they are not on the server port I specified and therefore I can't test if they are up from a udp scan.

All servers should use the same port as they are using different IPs.. TM dedicated just doesn't seem to bind the IP correctly

Regards
ah I think I get it: you'd like the server to be listening on a specific ip.
The current version always binds to "0.0.0.0", and /netip only changes the "published public ip adress" (to allow port forwarding)

And what you'd like is to be able to specify a specyfic network interface?
I'll add it on my TODO list...

Lurker
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 18
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 15:07
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Post by Lurker » 06 Feb 2006 22:03

I have some "big" bugs with the linux version. First of, it's way choppier than the windows version. I'm using a Linux server with GE connected to a 34Mbit/s internet-pipe and I set <connection_type>LAN</connection_type> but this is just horrible. I guess it might be latency/jitter related cause the other players (all with very few hops and low latency to the server) are teleporting all over the server. Watching someone thru the Follow camera or Replay camera is also a pain to your senses.

I tried changing it to <connection_type>DSL_16384_4096</connection_type> but it's still choppy. Since we run the server with Rounds this is a rather big nuance.

Anyways, then I thought, I should change this feature;
<vehicle_netquality>0</vehicle_netquality>
So I changed it to 1. Now this doesn't work at all. When this is set to 1 you'll only see your own car and all the other cars are parked on the startline as far as you can see. However, when they pass the checkpoints, the list is updated.

Finally, there's a 15 second limit in Rounds from when the first guy passes Finish until the race is stopped. However in the linux-version, I see people comming in with +18 and similar times. How is this possible?

We previously ran a dedicated Windows server on a 2Mbit/s line without these problems, but the linux version seems as bit immature atm. Are these known bugs, or am I doing something wrong?
lurker@parabel:~/TmDedicatedServer$ cat dedicated.cfg
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<dedicated>

<authorization_levels>
<level>
<name>SuperAdmin</name>
<password>xxxx</password>
</level>
<level>
<name>Admin</name>
<password>xxxx</password>
</level>
<level>
<name>User</name>
<password>xxxx</password>
</level>
</authorization_levels>

<masterserver_account>
<login>xxxx</login>
<password>xxxx</password>
</masterserver_account>

<server_options>
<name>Gjallar.no - Linux</name>
<comment>Island race - Rounds only.</comment>
<max_players>32</max_players>
<password></password>
<max_spectators>32</max_spectators>
<password_spectator></password_spectator>
<ladder_mode>normal</ladder_mode> // value between 'inactive', 'normal' and 'forced' (or '0', '1', '2')
<vehicle_netquality>0</vehicle_netquality>
<enable_p2p_upload>True</enable_p2p_upload>
<enable_p2p_download>True</enable_p2p_download>
<callvote_timeout>60000</callvote_timeout>
<callvote_ratio>0.5</callvote_ratio>
<allow_challenge_download>True</allow_challenge_download>
</server_options>

<system_config>
<connection_type>DSL_16384_4096</connection_type>
<server_port>2350</server_port>
<server_p2p_port>3450</server_p2p_port>
<client_port>0</client_port>
<xmlrpc_port>5000</xmlrpc_port>
<xmlrpc_allowremote>False</xmlrpc_allowremote> // !! WARNING: only enable at your own risk. Do not allow if you don't know what you do! The security is very low if you enable remote access, the validation of the messages received on this port isn't very strong.
<force_ip_address>xxxxx</force_ip_address>
<use_proxy>False</use_proxy>
<proxy_login></proxy_login>
<proxy_password></proxy_password>
<blacklist_url></blacklist_url>
</system_config>
</dedicated>

User avatar
Slig
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 2124
Joined: 05 Sep 2005 17:51
Owned TM-games: ALL
Location: TraxicoLand (Fr)
Contact:

Post by Slig » 07 Feb 2006 00:49

Lurker wrote:I have some "big" bugs with the linux version. First of, it's way choppier than the windows version. I'm using a Linux server with GE connected to a 34Mbit/s internet-pipe and I set <connection_type>LAN</connection_type> but this is just horrible. I guess it might be latency/jitter related cause the other players (all with very few hops and low latency to the server) are teleporting all over the server. Watching someone thru the Follow camera or Replay camera is also a pain to your senses.
I have 1 tmn and 1 tmsx linux dedicated (with a teamspeak and a sof2 server too) runing on a dual-PIII 1GHz , and it works ok. There are other linux dedicated which work ok, so it's more probably something in your connection, computer, or linux configuration...

Anyway, don't expect running in Rounds with 32 players if all users don't really tune their TM graphic configuration in a way permitting to have a decent framerate in such case.

User avatar
Xp
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 429
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 19:38
Owned TM-games: TMO, TMS, TMN, TMU
Location: Where do u think?
Contact:

Post by Xp » 07 Feb 2006 07:21

The server works fine for me, but I can only see it in the LAN sectoin, are other people able to see it in the internet?
Back with a barrel roll :island2

Lurker
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 18
Joined: 27 Dec 2005 15:07
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Post by Lurker » 07 Feb 2006 10:58

Slig wrote:
Lurker wrote:I have some "big" bugs with the linux version. First of, it's way choppier than the windows version. I'm using a Linux server with GE connected to a 34Mbit/s internet-pipe and I set <connection_type>LAN</connection_type> but this is just horrible. I guess it might be latency/jitter related cause the other players (all with very few hops and low latency to the server) are teleporting all over the server. Watching someone thru the Follow camera or Replay camera is also a pain to your senses.
I have 1 tmn and 1 tmsx linux dedicated (with a teamspeak and a sof2 server too) runing on a dual-PIII 1GHz , and it works ok. There are other linux dedicated which work ok, so it's more probably something in your connection, computer, or linux configuration...

Anyway, don't expect running in Rounds with 32 players if all users don't really tune their TM graphic configuration in a way permitting to have a decent framerate in such case.
Hmmm, but do you run Rounds or Time Attack? I'll test with Time Attack and see if that is better. I have a Xeon 2.4GHz so it should be fine and the CPU and mem-load isn't particurarly high. I understand that 32 players in rounds is a stretch,but it's not like there ever will be 32 players there.

Also, any idea how people can finish with +18 secs with a 15sec "deadline"?
And have you tried changing the vehicle_netquality?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests