Launching problem in Vista

General Discussion about Trackmania Sunrise + Extreme.

Moderator: TM-Patrol

Post Reply
winterace
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Nov 2009 09:27
Owned TM-games: TMSX

Launching problem in Vista

Post by winterace » 13 Nov 2009 09:34

I installed TM Sunrise Extreme (1.5.1) and open the Desktop Icon (TMlauncher) but I get an error saying:
"Your video card performance has not been found. A quick bench will be run." And then a Protection System opens up.
How do I solve this?

User avatar
Trackmaniack
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1055
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 20:05
Owned TM-games: All
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Contact:

Re: Launching problem in Vista

Post by Trackmaniack » 13 Nov 2009 18:09

You, uh, don't. It's the starforce copy protection system which verifies that your copy of TM is valid and legit. Trick is, the first time you run it after installing TM, it'll require a system reboot--then Vista will bitch because the Starforce that's on TM isn't compatible with Vista--it was made for XP on down. So, you'll have to go online and google Starforce Update Patch, or something like that. (It's been a while since I've done this) And you need to make sure you get a REAL copy of the drivers--I ended up getting a virus in one once--ate my entire system. >_< But, once that's all done, you should be good to play! ^_^
Cruisin' through life, TM-Style!
Image
_________________________________________________________________________

Image

winterace
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 2
Joined: 13 Nov 2009 09:27
Owned TM-games: TMSX

Re: Launching problem in Vista

Post by winterace » 14 Nov 2009 13:34

Thanks for the reply.

Found an update driver here: http://www.star-force.com/support/drivers/
Installed it and rebooted. I try to open TMS again but still shows the same thing. :cry:
I even tried open TMS from the main exe instead of the launcher, but then the Protection thing comes up and says "Key entered is wrong or mistyped....."

Tom.CZ.73
speed demon
speed demon
Posts: 1623
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 17:10
Owned TM-games: all PC versions
Manialink(s): Tom.CZ.73, sQs
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Launching problem in Vista

Post by Tom.CZ.73 » 14 Nov 2009 15:13

but then the Protection thing comes up and says "Key entered is wrong or mistyped....."
Don't forget, there are 2key in TMs(x) box - online key and cd key

User avatar
Terron
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 445
Joined: 02 Jun 2007 15:00
Owned TM-games: all full+some betas
Location: Earth

Re: Launching problem in Vista

Post by Terron » 30 Nov 2009 16:11

winterace wrote:Thanks for the reply.

Found an update driver here: http://www.star-force.com/support/drivers/
Installed it and rebooted. I try to open TMS again but still shows the same thing. :cry:
I even tried open TMS from the main exe instead of the launcher, but then the Protection thing comes up and says "Key entered is wrong or mistyped....."
have you tried running it as Administrator? Or if you have 64 bit OS, you have to get 64 bit drivers (starforce 3.05+)

Post Reply