Semi-transparancy...

Find here all the Mods of the Community. For more mods you can go on TM Mods: http://www.tmmod.info/

Moderator: TM-Patrol

UKFC»ACE
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 19:50
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF
Location: Dublin, IRELAND

Semi-transparancy...

Post by UKFC»ACE » 14 Apr 2008 14:19

Is it possible? Well... I know that it is possible but is it not possible for all textures?

For example: The alpha channel in StadiumFabricD.dds if set to 49% (as in Alternative Stadium Mod) will give a semi transparent texture but if you apply the same settings to StadiumRoadGridD.dds it won't work. StadiumRoadGridD.dds seems to be either fully transparent or fully opaque.

Am I doing something wrong or is this something that is controlled by the model rather than the skin?

ty

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Retodon8 » 21 Apr 2008 16:30

Basically you could say it's the model, not the texture file.
If the alpha channel doesn't control semi-transparency, it most likely changes the specularity (shininess).
Fly/drive around the block and you'll probably see it reflect stuff on the lighter/-est parts.
I suppose it's possible on some blocks the alpha channel doesn't do anything at all... haven't tried modding yet.
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

UKFC»ACE
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 19:50
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF
Location: Dublin, IRELAND

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by UKFC»ACE » 24 Apr 2008 08:15

Yes that is correct for the "Specular" files. In the Diffuse files the alpha channel controls transparency. However... it would seem only some blocks have transparency and only some of those have semi-transparency. I was hoping t have stadiumGrid semi transparent but it's just not possible. :(

Paris69
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 381
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 20:50

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Paris69 » 30 Apr 2008 17:39

i work on it. ;)
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

(but, it seems to be more laden for graphic card :| )
Last edited by Paris69 on 05 May 2011 17:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TStarGermany
speedy pilot
speedy pilot
Posts: 387
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 18:12
Owned TM-games: TMN,TMNF,TMUF
Manialink(s): creative
Location: GER
Contact:

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by TStarGermany » 01 May 2008 00:50

nice glass mod :3
Image

UKFC»ACE
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 19:50
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF
Location: Dublin, IRELAND

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by UKFC»ACE » 01 May 2008 14:39

Yes I know now some textures support semi- transparency but the one I wanted was StadiumGrid. Unfortunately it can not be semi transparent, it's either 100% or 0% transparent.

User avatar
f*ckfish
Pit Crew
Pit Crew
Posts: 1302
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 07:59
Owned TM-games: TMNF, TMUF
Location: Dresden, Germany
Contact:

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by f*ckfish » 01 May 2008 15:10

Something Fix from Nadeo wrote in the TMF Alpha, could have something to do with this issue:
Fix wrote:I you apply not binary alpha, you'll have Z sorting problems : you may have a loop placed 300m behind this one drawn before this one.
It's a very old 3D hardware limitation, that happens in every game engine, sorting not binary alpha also costs a big lot of performance. this can't be fixed.
Dunno why it works on some blocks though^^
inactive, sorry

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Mac Matrix » 09 May 2008 18:19

f*ckfish wrote:Something Fix from Nadeo wrote in the TMF Alpha, could have something to do with this issue:
Fix wrote:I you apply not binary alpha, you'll have Z sorting problems : you may have a loop placed 300m behind this one drawn before this one.
It's a very old 3D hardware limitation, that happens in every game engine, sorting not binary alpha also costs a big lot of performance. this can't be fixed.
Dunno why it works on some blocks though^^
That explains the transparency bug with DXT3 / DXT5 textures (with regards to ones that -don't- actually have transparency- O_o

and btw awesome mod. I want it.

(at the original question - just make the grid completely invisible. It's pretty obvious where its' physics are anyway even when it's not visible ^^)
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Knutselmaaster » 02 Jun 2008 14:37

I have a mod for tmn that i want to use in tmf but some parts have become transparent.
I tried to change DXT5 into DXT3 and DXT1 but it doesn't resolve anything.
Is there a way to easily change the mod so that it works in TMF without being transparent?

UKFC»ACE
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 19:50
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF
Location: Dublin, IRELAND

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by UKFC»ACE » 02 Jun 2008 20:45

Make the alpha channel in the 'D' texture files white in the files you want to remove the transparency from.

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Knutselmaaster » 03 Jun 2008 10:22

Thanks, i'm gonna try that tonight.

User avatar
Retodon8
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 14:57
Owned TM-games: TMSX, TMU(F), TM2:C
Manialink(s): Retodon8
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Retodon8 » 04 Jun 2008 16:01

Fix wrote:I you apply not binary alpha, you'll have Z sorting problems : you may have a loop placed 300m behind this one drawn before this one.
It's a very old 3D hardware limitation, that happens in every game engine, sorting not binary alpha also costs a big lot of performance. this can't be fixed.
If anyone has some more technical information on this, I'm interested. :)
As suggested, I've run into this phenomenon in a number of different games, and figured the problem would've been solved anno 2008.
I originally figured it was a limited Z-buffer "resolution" before, leading to rounding errors if within a single mesh, but indeed distance doesn't seem to make any difference.
Яєזσםση8
ImageImage

User avatar
Mr_MAO
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 175
Joined: 27 Mar 2008 14:51
Owned TM-games: TMU(F)
Location: Karlstad, Sweden

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Mr_MAO » 06 Jun 2008 09:10

May I ask... Is it possible to make a block totally invinsible? That would be really great news for me.
Want tutorials? Go to http://tutorials.tm-creative.org/ before posting a new thread, please!

UKFC»ACE
smooth traffic navigator
smooth traffic navigator
Posts: 203
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 19:50
Owned TM-games: TMUF, TMNF
Location: Dublin, IRELAND

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by UKFC»ACE » 07 Jun 2008 07:25

It is by making the alpha channel in the diffuse texture 100% white for every texture in the block (If they support transparency). BUT... many blocks share textures so you are unlikely to get the results you are looking for.

User avatar
Mac Matrix
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1264
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 20:31
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMN and TMU. :)
Location: The Centre of Hell. In other words, Britain.

Re: Semi-transparancy...

Post by Mac Matrix » 10 Jun 2008 15:10

UKFC»ACE wrote:It is by making the alpha channel in the diffuse texture 100% white for every texture in the block (If they support transparency). BUT... many blocks share textures so you are unlikely to get the results you are looking for.
Actually, it's 100% black for the texture to be completely invisible. But you are right that this needs to be done on the Diffuse (xxxD.dds) texture.

You reminded me I need to finish my wireframe mod. -sccot.- >_>
System Specs

AMD Phenon 9950 @ 2.85 Ghz
4GB Kingston DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte GA-M750SLI-DS4 mobo
250GB SATA HDD
Gigabyte GTX275 Super Overclock Edition
Logic 3 USB Rumble Pad
Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Mac Matrix: Author of the TMN Neon Craze

Post Reply