Page 1 of 1

ManiaLive FreeZone Plugin Aseco/TPS

Posted: 29 Jan 2011 10:34
by Gekko
Now working on :

- We don't need Database, we already have Aseco/TPS plugin.
- We don't need to check the Language in the chat, we already have Aseco/TPS plugin.
- We don't need the log file, as Aseco/TPS has its own.


I decided to port the new ManiaLive FreeZone Server Plugin for compatibility onto Aseco (naturally it works also on my TPS).
Stay tuned i will update this thread today....
Working...

Re: ManiaLive FreeZone Plugin Aseco/TPS

Posted: 29 Jan 2011 12:16
by oliverde8
I was thinking we had to use ManiaLive and porting the plugin was forbidden.

I passed hours to compile and make wotk php5.3 on my old Linux :roflol: If only I knew

Re: ManiaLive FreeZone Plugin Aseco/TPS

Posted: 29 Jan 2011 13:06
by Gekko
Ah....
I understood that it can be done reading in the Freezone Post....
Can i know if is possible before i continue?

Re: ManiaLive FreeZone Plugin Aseco/TPS

Posted: 29 Jan 2011 18:40
by Gekko
Ok sorry, i understand this thing can't be done.
Nobody answer me, nobody care.
Delete the post please.

Re: ManiaLive FreeZone Plugin Aseco/TPS

Posted: 01 Feb 2011 05:52
by nocturne
It's not that it can't be done, but rather a sorted matter of politics.

The reason ML is required is just to keep things simple. Since freezone requires you to keep in contact with nadeo's verification service, a hash check is needed to ensure the plugin hasn't been tampered with. It's certainly possible to emulate the ML freezone plugin, providing the same freezone player cycling and manialink content and just sending the desired hash to nadeo (I can't think of any way they can really require a specific setup, at least with only using unencoded PHP).

I'm sure Nadeo certainly realizes this obvious fact, and would consider allowing official use of a plugin if it met the demands already laid out in ML version. On their end it would merely require their service to accept an additional hash, rather than encourage us to circumvent the system entirely.

On another note, I don't see all too many problems with having to run a stripped down version of ML on a php5.3-cli install. The pressing issue is that the current freezone plugin is non-functional in many aspects, which are already under discussion in it's maniaplanet thread. I've noted several bugs and improperly coded functions, of which I forwarded to farfa/satanasdiablo with suggestions on how to fix them. Once a fully functional version of the FZ plugin is provided, I wouldn't be quite so upset.

Re: ManiaLive FreeZone Plugin Aseco/TPS

Posted: 01 Feb 2011 06:34
by SaTaNaSDiaBoLo
I prefer that to not the plugin be ported for the moment, because the rules can change very quickly, in a short time as we are still experimenting some rules.
So if we change a rule, and publish a new version of the plugin you have to update very quickly the Aseco plugin. Which give me more works to moderate FreeZone servers. So maybe if you do this I will increase weekly fixe cost for Aseco/Xaseco,etc. users.

Re: ManiaLive FreeZone Plugin Aseco/TPS

Posted: 01 Feb 2011 09:20
by Gekko
I understand, ok, anyway, maybe i will give a try to ManiaLive and port TPS under it.
I suggest to close the post to don't confuse admins.
Thx Satanas.