Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Any problem ? Don't panic! We have the solution !

Moderator: TM-Patrol

B34tnU
wheelbarrow operator
wheelbarrow operator
Posts: 15
Joined: 07 Apr 2008 08:42
Owned TM-games: TMN, TMU

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by B34tnU » 16 Jul 2009 20:57

YEAH!!!!!!

problem is gone with driver version 190.38 beta

snq
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 May 2009 21:01
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by snq » 28 Jul 2009 17:10

You should probably talk to ATI about this issue as well... I just upgraded from 6 GB of RAM with a HD4870 512 MB to 12 GB (which I need for work in case anyone wonders :)) and a HD4890 2 GB, and after this upgrade I'm experiencing the same problem. Worked fine before.
This is with the 9.7 drivers (latest atm), the same ones I used before the hardware upgrade, I did completely reinstall them though.

My System:
OS: Windows 7 RC1
CPU: Core i7 920
MEM: 12 GB Corsair XMS3 1600 MHz
GFX: Sapphire HD4890 2 GB, 9.7 driver.
SND: Onboard
Screen: 30" 2560x1600

VideoMemory.exe output:

Code: Select all

D3D9 Adapter: 0
Driver: atiumdag.dll
Description: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
hMonitor: 0x00010001
hMonitor Device Name: \\.\DISPLAY4
        GetVideoMemoryViaDirectDraw
                dwAvailableVidMem: 2039 MB (2138791936)
        GetVideoMemoryViaDxDiag
                dwDisplayMemory: 1011 MB (1060110336)
        GetVideoMemoryViaWMI
                dwAdapterRAM: 2048 MB (-2147483648)
        GetVideoMemoryViaDXGI
                DedicatedVideoMemory: 2039 MB (2138791936)
                DedicatedSystemMemory: 0 MB (0)
                SharedSystemMemory: 3067 MB (-1078460416)
        GetVideoMemoryViaD3D9
                dwAvailableTextureMem: 1010 MB (1059061760)
Edit: I just tried going back to 6 GB and I still get the blurry textures, VideoMemory.exe output is this:

Code: Select all

D3D9 Adapter: 0
Driver: atiumdag.dll
Description: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
hMonitor: 0x00010001
hMonitor Device Name: \\.\DISPLAY1
        GetVideoMemoryViaDirectDraw
                dwAvailableVidMem: 2040 MB (2139308032)
        GetVideoMemoryViaDxDiag
                dwDisplayMemory: 755 MB (791674880)
        GetVideoMemoryViaWMI
                dwAdapterRAM: 2048 MB (-2147483648)
        GetVideoMemoryViaDXGI
                DedicatedVideoMemory: 2040 MB (2139308032)
                DedicatedSystemMemory: 0 MB (0)
                SharedSystemMemory: 2811 MB (-1346836480)
        GetVideoMemoryViaD3D9
                dwAvailableTextureMem: 755 MB (791674880)
Edit2.. For the programmers ;)
The problem for TM seems to be that IDirect3DDevice9::GetAvailableTextureMem() returns the wrong value. I put a modified d3d9.dll in my TM dir, where I made this function return 2047*1024*1024. Now all my textures are fine again 8) Not sure what this value is supposed to be, but 2047M (wanted to avoid possible int overflows at 2048M) seems to do the job just fine.

Edit3.. ;)
The above hack works as long as I don't switch between windowed/fullscreen too often. After a couple of switches, the low res textures are back.
Hope this helps, I'd love a fully working solution :/

LuckyBoy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 201
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 15:25

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by LuckyBoy » 14 Dec 2009 15:29

Could you check if this bug is still present with latest TrackMania patch, please ?
The patch I'm talking about is explained here:
http://tm-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=23776

Thanks
JSeb

SubElement
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 May 2011 03:21
Owned TM-games: TMUF:SE

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by SubElement » 26 May 2011 03:22

Sorry to dif this thread back up, but I just purchase Trackmania United Forever: Star Edition in the Steam sale and I am currently having this issue!

I have all my settings turned to MAX, but the txtures in game are all low quality.

smileydude560
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Jan 2008 04:01
Owned TM-games: TMN TMO

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by smileydude560 » 26 May 2011 05:43

I had the same problem earlier, I fixed it by updating my graphics drivers.

SubElement
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 May 2011 03:21
Owned TM-games: TMUF:SE

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by SubElement » 26 May 2011 06:33

smileydude560 wrote:I had the same problem earlier, I fixed it by updating my graphics drivers.
What type of video card to you have?

I have a Gainward 580GTX 3GB Phantom and am using the latest drivers from the nVidia website...

LuminaryJanitor
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 May 2011 11:24
Owned TM-games: TMU

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by LuminaryJanitor » 26 May 2011 11:59

Same problem here; 3GB GTX580 as well.

Had the same problem in Quake 4. Turned out the graphics memory counter wraps around at 2GB, so it thought I had -1GB of VRAM...

LuminaryJanitor
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 May 2011 11:24
Owned TM-games: TMU

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by LuminaryJanitor » 27 May 2011 14:06

Here's an idea of what it looks like on my end:
Image Image

Even the TM2 promo screen is ridiculously low-quality...
Image

roflcopter
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Jun 2011 02:45
Owned TM-games: TMNF

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by roflcopter » 14 Jun 2011 02:51

Upgraded from a Radeon 4850 to 2 6970s running the Catalyst 11.5b hotfix drivers and I'm getting the same issue now.
D3D9 Adapter: 0
Driver: aticfx32.dll
Description: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
hMonitor: 0x00010001
hMonitor Device Name: \\.\DISPLAY1
GetVideoMemoryViaDirectDraw
dwAvailableVidMem: 4028 MB (-70320128)
GetVideoMemoryViaDxDiag
dwDisplayMemory: 1724 MB (1807745024)
GetVideoMemoryViaWMI
dwAdapterRAM: 2048 MB (-2147483648)
GetVideoMemoryViaDXGI
DedicatedVideoMemory: 4028 MB (-70320128)
DedicatedSystemMemory: 0 MB (0)
SharedSystemMemory: 1791 MB (1878220800)
GetVideoMemoryViaD3D9
dwAvailableTextureMem: 1723 MB (1806696448)
Integer overflow apparently, though I'm sure the 64-bit version of videomemory.exe would fix that. Aside from reverting back to the 4850, nothing fixes it. Too bad there won't be a patch either.

User avatar
»Enryx«
solid chaser
solid chaser
Posts: 1227
Joined: 12 Dec 2010 20:25
Owned TM-games: TMF TMWii TM²C/S
Location: The Internet

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by »Enryx« » 14 Jun 2011 08:18

LuminaryJanitor wrote:Here's an idea of what it looks like on my end:
Image Image
The 2 island images: this is what happens if I set sharder to PC3 High/Low, PC2 is ok... For me that thing happens in every TMS envi (Island Coast Bay) and Stadium... But my PC sucks :P
Image

kik2k9
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Jul 2011 17:19
Owned TM-games: TMU

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by kik2k9 » 15 Jul 2011 17:22

Does anyone have a fixed d3d9.dll, or have found a fix for this problem?
I'm running 2x AMD 6970 cards.

Final8ty
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jun 2007 10:21

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by Final8ty » 13 Aug 2011 16:24

Steam version is bugged with 2 & 3 GB per GPU cards.

Goto your Steam\SteamApps\common\trackmania united draw.

Locate the Nadeo Configuration Settings ini.

Not the STEAM_Nadeo,DON'T EDIT THIS ONE.

Edit the Nadeo Configuration Settings ini with Notepad or WordPad.

Change the Distro to Distro=MILIN

Then download the http://files2.trackmaniaforever.com/TmU ... _Setup.exe

And browse to your Steam\SteamApps\common\trackmania united draw.

smebrain
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Dec 2011 16:26
Owned TM-games: TMUF

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by smebrain » 05 Dec 2011 16:29

I seem to have the same problem. Choppy picture, blurry/bad textures! Should not be the case with a AMD FX 8150 + 2x 6970 radeon cards.

Anyone got a fix? Please post!

ckeech
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Jul 2012 13:23
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMS, TMUF

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by ckeech » 24 Jul 2012 13:32

Final8ty wrote:Steam version is bugged with 2 & 3 GB per GPU cards.

Goto your Steam\SteamApps\common\trackmania united draw.

Locate the Nadeo Configuration Settings ini.

Not the STEAM_Nadeo,DON'T EDIT THIS ONE.

Edit the Nadeo Configuration Settings ini with Notepad or WordPad.

Change the Distro to Distro=MILIN

Then download the http://files2.trackmaniaforever.com/TmU ... _Setup.exe

And browse to your Steam\SteamApps\common\trackmania united draw.
Thank you so much!!!! This fixed my graphics COMPLETELY. I had the low res texture problem as well as all sorts of other graphical anomalies. And this fixed it like a charm.

To summarise:

1 - Edit C:\Program Files\
(x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\TrackMania United\Nadeo.ini

2 - Change delete what is after "Distro=" and make it
"Distro=MILIN"

3 - Download http://files2.trackmaniaforever.com/TmU ... _Setup.exe

4 - Install the patch and point it to C:\Program Files\
(x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\TrackMania United

5 - Run Trackmania, from Steam or the folder itself.

User avatar
EagleSoul
highway camper
highway camper
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Oct 2009 21:07
Owned TM-games: TMS, TMUF, TM2

Re: Stuck with low-res textures (hud/track)

Post by EagleSoul » 05 Aug 2012 14:12

I'm having this same problem but in Sunrise. I'm running the fix from:
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=24517
Anyone know how to remedy this?

Post Reply