Referee Questions (solved)

Any problem ? Don't panic! We have the solution !

Moderator: TM-Patrol

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Referee Questions (solved)

Post by Knutselmaaster » 25 Sep 2008 08:56

Hello,

I've got some questions about the referee validation:

It is possible to start it "windowless" from the command line, but what is the exact syntax? Because the syntax wich Florent gave isn't complete;
Florent wrote:you need a program running to load tracks, collisions information etc.

To launch a client on a command line with the referee, I think you can try:
trackmania.exe /login="accountlogin" /password="password for referee" /joinasreferee="yourserverlogin" /windowless
If i do that it doesn't work, it hangs on the "listening for xml-rpc commands on port 5000"
When i replace "password for referee" by "password accountlogin" it connects but all it does is spectate, no validation or logfile is coming out.
So i'd like to know how it should be done...

When i use the "ingame referee" everything works but after some tracks the server will hang on the "results screen" at the end of a race and only continues if everybody logs out.
Is that a known problem and is there a solution for that?

Thanks for replying,

Knutsel
Last edited by Knutselmaaster on 01 Oct 2008 18:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions

Post by Knutselmaaster » 27 Sep 2008 07:51

Little bump; does anybody know?

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions

Post by Knutselmaaster » 30 Sep 2008 04:01

Please? :ftw:

Racemaniac
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 2480
Joined: 13 Aug 2005 10:57
Owned TM-games: all
Manialink(s): racemaniac
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions

Post by Racemaniac » 30 Sep 2008 08:26

obviously we don't know, but try asking in the toolbox forum, server related things are far more popular there
as much as the trackmanias may rule, carmageddon 1 & 2 are still the best games ever :D

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions

Post by Knutselmaaster » 30 Sep 2008 11:55

Already did....
I was expecting (hoping) to get an answer of the people who made the game, they really should know.

xbx
Developer
Developer
Posts: 452
Joined: 12 Aug 2005 14:42

Re: Referee Questions

Post by xbx » 01 Oct 2008 13:57

hi..
sorry I didn't get around to replying earlier.
"D:\TmNationsForever\TmForever.exe" /login="playerlogin" /password="playerpassword" /joinasreferee="serverlogin" /password="here i put refereepass but i think the syntax is wrong" /windowless
almost...
it's supposed to be:

Code: Select all

D:\TmNationsForever\TmForever.exe" /login="playerlogin" /password="playerpassword" /joinasreferee="serverlogin" /joinpassword="refereepass" /windowless
(but IIRC, it only works with the fix.)

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions

Post by Knutselmaaster » 01 Oct 2008 18:18

Indeed it works now!
This is great, tnx XBX, i will share this info so we can put a stop to cheaters.

Why is the fix not available when we use the update function in the launcher, by the way?

Florent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1594
Joined: 09 Aug 2005 14:07

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by Florent » 02 Oct 2008 11:03

because if it causes troubles to 0.1% of current players, you end with 100 more troubles than today. the problem is that those troubles sometimes comes from something else: a firewall that blocks the new .exe or a bad installation or simply a bad coincidence on the system (system, instability, hot graphic board) that players will think comes from the update.

So, if you "impose" this update by making it install itself with update button, you can have a flood situation. And if it is to help the referee command line, I doubt it impacts too many players ^_^

Maybe we will do it one day, but at the moment, the game is running quite well like this.

Zahl
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 114
Joined: 18 Jul 2006 22:37
Owned TM-games: TM, TMU
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by Zahl » 02 Oct 2008 12:45

I also have a question about referees... This seems to work quite well now, but sometimes
it happens that it won't go to the next track. At the end of the race, the chat time counts
down, but then nothing happens. As soon as I quit the referee client, it will load the next map.
It seems that this happens if the referee joins if the server is empty and someone already
has reached the finishline on the current map, or something like that.
So is there any way to fix that or get around that problem?
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.7GHz; 4GB RAM Corsair; Gf8800GTS; WinXPSP3; Samsung 223BW

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by Knutselmaaster » 03 Oct 2008 07:55

I have the same problem with the ingame referee, haven't noticed it with the commandline one yet.
If everybody leaves the server it will go to the next track too, with referee still logged in.

@Florent:
Thanks for your reply, i didn't look at it like that; its true the game works perfectly as it is now.

Florent
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1594
Joined: 09 Aug 2005 14:07

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by Florent » 03 Oct 2008 09:20

thanks Knutselmaaster (last time I write your full name ^_^)

Xavier will look after this referee thing, I expect a solution to come out of it. :pil

:1

Zahl
happy cruiser
happy cruiser
Posts: 114
Joined: 18 Jul 2006 22:37
Owned TM-games: TM, TMU
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by Zahl » 03 Oct 2008 11:31

I'm using the commandline referee too, with the exact commandline from above...
The game hung again right now, and when I checked the referee, I saw that the program crashed this time:
---------------------------
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
---------------------------
Runtime Error!

Program: F:\TmNationsForever\TmForever.exe



This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.


---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
As soon as I clicked ok, the referee left the server and the next map was loading...

Does windows create coredumps or something too?
If so, where can I find it to provide additional help? :)
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.7GHz; 4GB RAM Corsair; Gf8800GTS; WinXPSP3; Samsung 223BW

User avatar
w1lla
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 1466
Joined: 23 May 2007 07:20
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMF
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Venray

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by w1lla » 13 Oct 2008 13:48

Hmm made a config line it starts but hangs at the searching for port 5000.

need help please.

Code: Select all

tmnforever is nations and united makes it special. tmnforever has united. I need united!

User avatar
Knutselmaaster
swift roadking
swift roadking
Posts: 692
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 01:40
Owned TM-games: TMO/TMN/TMNF/TMU
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Between DisneyLand and Paris
Contact:

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by Knutselmaaster » 13 Oct 2008 19:46

have you updated the gameclient you use for the referee to the latest version?

User avatar
w1lla
TM-Patrol
TM-Patrol
Posts: 1466
Joined: 23 May 2007 07:20
Owned TM-games: TMU, TMN, TMF
Manialink(s): intr
Location: Venray

Re: Referee Questions (solved)

Post by w1lla » 19 Oct 2008 17:38

have the game version x.x.17 but it calls on the port 5000 and the server runs on 5225.

Code: Select all

tmnforever is nations and united makes it special. tmnforever has united. I need united!

Post Reply